25. James Receives Hope in an Elevator

Standard

This is a short but sweet story.

So the other day, I was on my way to a voice lesson with Tim Howard. As I’m getting into the elevator to go to Ripley-Grier, the elevator closes on me and a stranger. I instinctively pull out my phone and pretend that I’m super cool and have millions of people to text so I have something to awkwardly pass the time. The stranger engages me in conversation.

Stranger: Are you a dancer?
Me:…

(Well. It’s complicated. Cuz I am very self-conscious about calling myself a dancer. Cuz I can’t do tricks like a betch, but I dance and I tap. So. Well. Can I be on So You Think You Can Dance? No. But. Am I dancer? Yes. So..)

Me: Yes.
Stranger: Oh cool. I can tell. My sister is a dancer.
Me: Really? That’s awesome.
Stranger: Yeah.
Me: Where does she dance?
Stranger: Well she’s touring Africa right now, but she’s done a lot.
Me: Wow. Cool!
Stranger: Yeah. It’s hard man.
Me: Yeah, it is.
Stranger: I know, I’m a musician. So I know how hard it can be.
Me: Yeah.
Stranger: But don’t give up.
Me: I won’t.
Stranger: If you keep at it, you’re gonna win.

Then the elevator opened; shortest elevator ride ever.

I won’t forget you, kind stranger. Stranger is a rude word, I feel like, cuz it has the root “strange”. You weren’t strange. You were surprisingly kind. So. I won’t forget you, Kinder. Much better. Has the roots “kind” and “kin”.

Thanks, Brother.

#IBelieveInKindness

Love where you are, but don’t you dare forget where you came from.

(Thank you everyone who has ever been nice to me. Ever.)

James

Loves You

5 responses »

  1. Hi James. I’ve been a bad girl about reading your blog for a while, but I miss it. It’s so very upbeat and inspiring. I’m going through some tough stuff right now and reading this has already made me smile this morning. Thank you.

  2. What a wonderful story….you already are a winner Jamsie šŸ™‚ I miss our everyday conversations when we lived together, and I would very much like to make you chicken nuggets right now….and talk about winning šŸ™‚ LOVE YOU!

Leave a Reply

